Executive Board Officers & Members

The American Heartworm Society was founded in early 1974 by a group of veterinary practitioners and scientists concerned about heartworm disease. Since then, the Society has continued to thrive and grow.  Active membership is open to all veterinarians and scientists with interests in any aspect of heartworm disease.  Membership as a Subscriber or Student Member is also available to other individuals interested in keeping abreast of the latest developments in this area.

The American Heartworm Society is governed by an Executive Board made up of veterinary practitioners, academicians and researchers. Executive board members are actively involved in the day-to-day operations of the Society and volunteer hundreds of hours of time in the Society’s service. Only members in private clinical practice may serve as President.

The American Heartworm Society is an international organization, with members from five continents and 13 countries.



Christopher Rehm


Christopher J. Rehm, Sr., DVM, is the owner of Rehm Animal Clinics of Mobile and Baldwin counties, four small animal clinics in south Alabama.

Stephen Jones

Immediate Past President

Stephen Jones, DVM, is a general practitioner and practice partner at Lakeside Animal Hospital in Moncks Corner, South Carolina.

Anthony Rumschlag

Vice President

Tony Rumschlag, DVM, is Director of Consulting Veterinarians, Companion Animal, at Elanco/Lilly Companion Animal Health in Greenfield, Indiana.

Bianca Zaffarano


Bianca Zaffarano, DVM, is currently Director of the Wildlife Care Clinic and a member of the Primary Care service at the Hixson-Lied Small Animal Hospital at the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine in Ames, Iowa.

Patricia Payne


Patricia Payne, DVM, PhD, DACVIM, is an Associate Professor Emeritus (retired) in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology at the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine in Manhattan, Kansas.


Executive Board Members

Elizabeth ClydeDruinElizabeth Clyde, DVM, is the owner of Clyde’s Animal Clinic in Mattoon, Illinois and the Animal Family Vet Care Center of Paris in Paris, Illinois.

Brian DiGangiBrian DiGangi, DVM, MS, DABVP is a Senior Director of Shelter Medicine at the ASPCA and is based out of Gainesville, Florida.

Chris DukeChris Duke, DVM, is a practitioner and co-owner of Bienville Animal Medical Center in Ocean Springs, Mississippi.

Andrew MoorheadAndrew Moorhead, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVM (Parasitology) is an Associate Professor at the University of Georgia and is Director and Primary Investigator of the Filariasis Research Reagent Resource Center in Athens, Georgia.

Jennifer RizzoJennifer Rizzo, DVM, is an Emergency Veterinarian at the Friendship Animal Hospital in San Antonio, Texas.

Tom NelsonCharles Thomas (Tom) Nelson, DVM, is Medical Director at the Animal Medical Centers of N.E. Alabama, based in Anniston, Alabama.

Ex-Officio - Non-Voting

Christopher AdophChris Adolph, DVM is Veterinary Specialist (Parasitology) at Zoetis in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Marisa AmesMarisa Ames, DVM, DACVIM (Cardiology) is Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences at Colorado State University's College of Veterinary Medicine, and AHS Triennial Symposium Program Co-Chair.

Doug CarithersDoug Carithers, DVM, Doug Carithers, DVM, is Director of Applied Research and Publications at Boehringer Ingelheim in Duluth, Georgia, and AHS Triennial Symposium Program Co-Chair.

Edward WakemEdward M. Wakem, DVM, is Manager of Companion Animal Veterinary Services at Ceva Animal Health, LLC in Lenexa, Kansas.


John McCallJohn W. McCall, MS, PhD, is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Infectious Diseases at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine in Athens, Georgia.

AHS Association Management Team

ELEVATE DVM, Inc. serves as the Association Management Team of the American Heartworm Society. Please contact the following persons for specific needs:

Kathy Gloyd, DVM
President, ELEVATE DVM, Inc.
Director of the Association Management Team

Lisa Scott
Sponsor Contact, Triennial Symposium, General Information

Bonnie Gamble
Financial Inquiries, Publications

Sonya Hennessy
Membership, Heartworm University

Sue O’Brien
Communications and Media Inquiries